Mitsui Fudosan Group

Art & Design

A hotel where you can enjoy a sense of timelessness.

The hotel was designed to be close to the venerable Torodo Jokyo-ji Temple with its history of over 500 years.Valuable historical artifacts from Jokyo-ji Temple are placed throughout the building, providing a unique sense of comfort, as if you were staying in a temple museum.

Tamonzan Torodo Jokyo-ji Temple, a temple of the Jodo sect with Chion-in Temple, famous for its national treasure San-mon Gate, as its head temple, was founded in Joan (around 1171-1175), and Taira no Kiyomori's eldest son Taira no Shigemori built it as a 48-room hall in his residence in Komatsudani, Higashiyama.
In 1449, Emperor Go-Hanazono bestowed the name Jokyo-ji on the temple, which was moved to Gojo Higashinotoin and then to its current location on Teramachi Dori in 1591, following Toyotomi Hideyoshi's reorganization of temples and shrines within the capital.

Morning-Routine Experience

Hotel guests can experience the Morning-Routine of the Jodo sect (*additional fee) held every morning in the main hall, and receive a stamp of Jokyo-ji's red seal in their seal book.

Tomebutagawara with lions to ward off evil spirits in the temple and precincts

Tomebutagawara roof tiles were used at the north and south corners of the main hall. The closed-mouthed "Un" male lion is installed in the lobby and the open-mouthed "A" female lion is installed in the elevator hall on the second floor.
Production date: 1935 (Showa 10)

Architrave reused as a monument

The architrave that used to make up part of Jokyo-ji before its reconstruction was reused. Architraves not only add to the beauty of the temple or shrine architecture, but are also valuable as cultural assets of the period.
Production date: 1830 (Bunsei 13) Creator: Kohei Ogawa (master carpenter)

Arched beam decorates the reception counter

Decorations used at Jokyo-ji Temple are combined with ceramic reliefs to compose wall art.
The wooden carvings are not only decorative, but also tell the Buddhist tale of the "turtle between the waves.
” Wood Carving Production date: 1830 (Showa 13)

Lobby columns made of old wood from Jokyo-ji Temple

The old wood used for the floor of the outer corridor of the Jokyo-ji Temple complex was used to make up the columns in the lobby.

Nagamochi chest art placed at the entrance to create isolation from the secular world

Art piece based on a nagamochi chest, which used to hold Buddhist ritual utensils at Jokyo-ji Temple. In place of a Buddhist altar, it serves the symbolic role of containing the worldly burdens that people have unburdened themselves of and leading them to a space of serenity.

620 Teianmaeno-cho, Shijo-sagaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, 600-8031


Hotel Brochure

Share with
Mitsui Garden Hotels

Our Brands

  • Mitsui Garden Hotels
  • sequence
  • 後楽ガーデンホテル
© Mitsui Fudosan Hotel Management Co., Ltd.
All Rights Reserved.